Sindh-Balochistan zone: APTMA elections today

September 17, 2013

textile-industry-aptmaAll Pakistan Textile Mills Association (APTMA) elections for Sindh-Balochistan Zone are taking place on Tuesday (today). A total of six candidates for five Central Executive Committee (CMC) seats have filed their nomination papers. Five out of six candidates belong to the Businessmen Group of Gohar Ejaz. Shahid Anwar Tata is the only candidate contesting from the opposite side.

Polling for the elections would start at 9am until 5pm and around 400 APTMA members from across Pakistan would cast their votes at their respective zones. It may be noted that the APTMA CMC is consisted of 24 members, including 10 members from Sindh-Balochistan, 12 from Punjab and 2 from Kyhber Pakhtunkhwa. As per election formula, 50 percent membership of CEC gets retire every year, ie six in Punjab, one in Khyber Pakhtunkwa and five in Sindh-Balochistan. The Businessmen Group has secured unopposed all the six seats in Punjab zone and one seat in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. Chances of unopposed win from Sindh-Balochistan were also bright until Shahid Anwar Tata filed nomination papers, followed by announcement of elections on September 17 (Tuesday).

Following the elections, the Annual General Meeting of APTMA will be held on September 30 where the new CMC will elect office bearers, including central Chairman APTMA. Businessmen Group has finalised the name of Yasin Siddik for the office of central Chairman APTMA. Courtesy Business Recorder

Published in

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More